ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 10/12/04, Honors & Other Things - Almanac, Vol. 51, No. 7


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Honors & Other Things

Friendship Award: Dr. MacDiarmid

Dr. Alan G. MacDiarmid, the Blanchard Professor of Chemistry and 2000 Nobel Laureate in chemistry, has received the Friendship Award from Chinese Vice-Premier Hui Liangyu. The annual Friendship Award was conferred on 84 foreign experts for their outstanding contributions to China's economic and social development. Dr. MacDiarmid was honored for his work as chairman of the Alan G. MacDiarmid Institute at Jijin University in Changchun, China, and as professor in Jijin University's Chemistry Department.

Gold Medal: Dr. Glatstein

Dr. Eli J. Glatstein, professor and vice chair of radiation oncology at the School of Medicine, has been named the 2004 Gold Medal recipient by the American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ASTRO). Dr. Glatstein, who also serves as a member of the Abramason Cancer Center, is being honored for his more than 35 years of dedicated service in the field of radiation oncology. "Dr. Glatstein's career has been marked by several milestones," said Dr. John H. Glick, director of the Abramson Cancer Center. "It is through his pioneering efforts and dedication that physicians have been able to successfully diagnose and treat many cancers, such as Hodgkin's disease, with such precision. Dr. Glatstein represents the high caliber of physician-scientists working every day in service to others at the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania."

Design Award: Penn Alexander

The Penn Alexander School has been recognized by the KnowledgeWorks Foundation as one of 14 schools in the nation that best exemplifies a growing national trend to build schools as centers of community. It was selected for the Honor Society and will become part of a new design "gallery" hosted by the foundation at www.nationalschoolsearch.org. "The Schools that have been selected for the Honor Society are all models of excellence when it comes to reaching out to the community," said Chad Wick, the foundation's president and CEO. "The building was designed to encourage shared use by school and community. Equally important, the curriculum integrates the many cultural and historical assets in West Philadelphia," said Dr. Nancy Streim, associate dean at GSE. The Penn Alexander School—a model PreK-8 neighborhood public school—is the result of a unique partnership among Penn, the School District of Philadelphia and the Federation of Teachers to build an exemplary public school for West Philadelphia children.

Chair of HICPAC: Dr. Brennan

Dr. Patrick J. Brennan, professor of medicine at the School of Medicine and Chief of Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety at UPHS, has been appointed Chairman of the Department of Health and Human Services' Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee (HICPAC) by Tommy Thompson, Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services.  In his role as Chief of Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety, Dr. Brennan has introduced numerous system-wide patient safety initiatives. He is using this experience to help HICPAC in its quest to formulate ways to improve patient safety throughout the nation. 

Research Fellowship: Mr. Marot

Mr. Sébastien Marot, a lecturer in the Department of landscape architecture, has been awarded a Canadian Centre for Architecture Study Centre Research Fellowship for 2004-2005 to investigate "Les Paysages du Temps: Art de la Mémoire et art d'espérer dans le Sub-urbanisme Contemporain."

Chair of UCD Board: Mr. Blaik

University City District (UCD) Board of Directors elected Omar Blaik, senior vice president for Facilities and Real Estate Services, to its Chairmanship last month. Mr. Blaik has led the effort to enhance the quality of life on campus and in the neighborhood. Under his leadership, Penn has received many prestigious awards.  He commented on his new position and UCD's community commitment. "I am honored to assume the role of chair of UCD, an organization that everyday enhances the quality of life in University City with programs in cleaning and marketing. I am particularly proud of the partnership between Penn's public safety and UCD's safety programs. This gives us the foundation to meet new challenges and set new goals for making University City thrive."

Consumer Choice Award: HUP 

HUP has been named a 2004-2005 Consumer Choice Award winner by the National Research Corporation. This award identifies HUP as one of 187 top hospitals in the nation that have been recognized by consumers for providing quality healthcare services. The Consumer Choice Award reflects the growing role of consumer choice in the healthcare field. Winners are determined by consumer perceptions on quality and image ratings collected in National Research Corporation's Annual Healthcare Market Guide study. Garry Scheib, executive director of HUP and chief operating officer of UPHS, said "HUP's recognition—by the people it serves—as one of the nation's top hospitals is truly a tribute to the dedication and commitment of its physicians, nurses, and staff in providing quality patient care."



  Almanac, Vol. 51, No. 7, October 12, 2004


October 12, 2004
Volume 51 Number 7


Back to Contents page