Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Honors & Other Things

Dr. Green: Buck Weaver Award

Dr. Paul E. Green, professor emeritus of marketing at the Wharton School, has been named the first recipient of the MIT Sloan School of Management Buck Weaver Award. The award was established to honor individuals who have made important contributions to the advancement of theory and practice in marketing science. The theory and practice focus follows in the MIT tradition of mens et manus, thinking and doing. Dr. Green was the unanimous choice from a list of 25 nominees from business and academia. "[Dr.] Green was a pioneer in developing and applying conjoint analysis, multidimensional scaling, and Bayesian decision theory to marketing," said Dr. Glen Urban, the Barabba and MIT Sloan Professor of Management.

The award is sponsored by General Motors Corporation in honor of Henry Grady "Buck" Weaver who was a pioneer in marketing research and market-based decision making in the 1930s.

Dr. Olthoff: Hedwig van Ameringen Fellow

Dr. Kim M. Olthoff, associate professor of surgery, associate director of the liver transplant program at HUP and the program director of liver transplantation at CHOP, has been selected as a 2003-2004 Fellow in the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program for Women. She is one of 45 senior women faculty from medical and dental schools in the U.S. and Canada to be chosen.

Dr. Brinster: Hall of Honor

Dr. Ralph Brinster, the Richard King Mellon Professor of Reproductive Physiology in the School of Veterinary Medicine, has been selected for the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development's Hall of Honor. The Hall of Honor recognizes scientists supported by the Institute for exceptional contributions to advancing knowledge and improving maternal and child health. He was one of 15 scientists selected this year.

Dr. Brinster was chosen for "discovering a method for in vitro culture of animal embryos that opened new possibilities in reproductive biology, and pioneering the use of new techniques in developmental biology and molecular genetics to produce transgenic animals, a key technology in advancing the genetic revolution."

"The NICHD Hall of Honor scientists exemplify the scientific achievement for which they are honored as well as the common humanity that motivates us all to serve others," said Dr. Duane Alexander, director, NICHD. "We honor them for who they are, as much as for what they have done."

Dr. Dmochowski: Dreyfus Award

Ivan Dmochowski

Dr. Ivan J. Dmochowski, assistant professor of chemistry, has received the New Faculty Award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation for his project, Methods, Molecules, and Microscopes for Better Biological Imaging.

His work involves developing small molecule probes, molecular biology strategies, and spectroscopic tools for studying and controlling specific gene and protein functions, particularly protein-nucleic acid interactions, in living systems.

Dr. Dmochowski came to Penn in January from the California Institute of Technology, where he was a Helen Hay Whitney Postdoctoral Fellow in the biology department. He received his Ph.D. in chemistry from Caltech in 2000 after earning a B.A. from Harvard University in 1994.

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Awards Program was established in 1979 to provide external research funding for new faculty members in their first year of full-time academic appointment.

Mr. Murray: Director's Award

John Murray

Mr. John T. Murray, head of the exhibitions department, UPM, has been chosen as the recipient of the Director's Award from the University of Pennsylvania Museum. "As head of our Exhibition's department, Jack Murray has worked with curators, conservators, exhibition staff and auxiliary exhibition designers and builders to coordinate and/or design virtually every exhibition at the Museum," said Dr. Jeremy Sabloff, the Williams Director of UPM.

Mr. Murray, head of the exhibition design department since 1975, is responsible for the installation of all UPM exhibitions. The Director's Award was established in 1995 to honor exceptional staff and volunteer achievement.

Ms. Bouldin: Out of Place Memoir

Ms. Joy Bouldin, a Bread Upon the Waters Scholar in CGS, was named winner of the Out of Place Memoir Contest sponsored by the Philadelphia City Paper and Blue Sky Diaries. Ms. Bouldin won for her essay, The Mississippi Diaries. "There is a lot of energy in the voice," one of the contest judges said, "and the characters pop off the page. The author has fun with the language and has a truly compelling story to tell."

Ms. Bouldin is working on her first novel.




  Almanac, Vol. 50, No. 6, September 30, 2003