Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!

HONORS & Other Things

AWFA Awards

The Association of Women Faculty and Administrators (AWFA) presented awards to six women at its annual breakfast on April 10.

Stephanie Abbuhl

The Lenore Rowe Williams Award was given to Dr. Stephanie Abbuhl, associate professor of emergency medicine, School of Medicine, FOCUS on Women's Leadership and Health. She was commended, "As faculty, and director of FOCUS on Women's Leadership and Health, your work offers an oasis of strength, support and refuge to women in the School of Medicine. Through FOCUS, you bring guidance to junior faculty and community to all women faculty. Describing the real status of women faculty through consistent data collection and reporting, you make gender equity a compelling issue, above competing priorities. Countless women will be able to attribute their advancement to you and your tireless personal and professional commitment gender equity in the medical profession."


Jeanne Arnold

The Robert E. Davies Award recipient was Jeanne Arnold, recently appointed director of Affirmative Action. "For Penn's faculty, staff and students of African descent, all campus byways lead to you. Your accessible and compassionate leadership and strategic advocacy has touched countless individuals through the African American Resource Center. Affirmative Action Council, the Sexual Harassment Committee, and the Penn Women's Center, among many more boards and organizations, are richer for your contributions. The professional, personal and spiritual lives of men and women of color, and all men and women at Penn, have been lifted by your gifts and by your commitment to making ‘community' a word with true meaning on our campus."

The Alice Paul Awards went to three students:

Andrea Gurmankin, Grad. SAS, "Your accomplishments in exploring ethical considerations in reproductive technologies have leveraged a future of improved, informed outcomes for women and couples. By exposing failures in the disclosure of risk for participants in these technologies, you illuminated basic ethical omissions for women making very personal choices in often stressful conditions. Conducting companion work with women at risk for breast cancer, your efforts promise to ensure better choices and outcomes for women and their partners in these areas of high stakes health care."

Helen Kim and Lisa Pettinati, CAS, "your leadership of feminist group, Women in Thought, has illuminated the textures and shadows of women's lives. Creating venues for dialogue on women's careers, health and politics, reaching out to the homeless community, and joining women faculty and staff with women students, you brought new attention to issues often left unconsidered."

The Lynda Hart Award went to Courtney Patterson, The College, "A woman of passion, honesty and integrity, you have shown your commitment to the Black community through numerous contributions of personal mentorship, public activism, and civic leadership. Your drive for the creative exploration and celebration of Black culture has been expressed through your work with the African-American Arts Alliance as actor, director, writer, and visionary. A role model and teacher, you have touched students on and off campus through your energy and determination and spirit."


HERS: Drs. McCauley and Adams

McCauley Sherill L. Adams

Two women were selected to attend the Summer Institute for Women in Higher Education at Bryn Mawr College this year. Dr. Kathleen M. McCauley, interim associate dean and director of undergraduate studies, associate professor of cardiovascular nursing, School of Nursing and Dr. Sherrill L. Adams, professor of biochemistry, School of Dental Medicine. They will join women from across the U.S. in a month-long program co-sponsored by Bryn Mawr College and Higher Education Resources (HERS) Mid-Atlantic.

  Almanac, Vol. 49, No. 30, April 22, 2003