Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast



SENATE From the Senate Office

SEC Actions | SENATE Nominations

The following statement is published in accordance with the Senate Rules. Among other purposes, the publication of SEC Actions is intended to stimulate discussion among the constituencies and their representatives. Please communicate your comments to Senate Chair Mitchell Marcus, or Kristine Kelly, Box 12 College Hall/6303, (215) 898-6943 or

Actions Taken by the Senate Executive Committee

Wednesday, January 15, 2003

1. Chair's Report. Faculty Senate Chair Mitch Marcus reported that the March SEC meeting was inadvertently scheduled during Spring Break. SEC agreed to move the meeting to March 19, 2003.

Professor Marcus next outlined the procedures for the election of the 2002-2003 Senate Nominating Committee. Ballots were distributed and present SEC members voted by approval for the slate of candidates. In accordance with Faculty Senate rules, SEC then nominated one of its own members--Professor Peter Kuriloff--to serve on the committee if elected.

Lastly, Professor Marcus noted that a large portion of next month's meeting would be devoted to the topic of faculty gender equity and next steps the faculty can take. He briefly updated SEC on the meetings he and the Past Chair and Chair-Elect have had with various faculty members to discuss gender equity concerns, and will forward to SEC, in advance of the February meeting, a draft proposal for discussion.

2. Past Chair's Report on Academic Planning and Budget Committee and Capital Council. Past Chair David Hackney reported that both Academic Planning and Budget Committee and Capital Council have not met since the last Senate meeting.

3. Indirect Cost Recovery Presentation. Bonnie Gibson, Executive Director of Administrative Affairs for the Office of the Provost, and Provost Robert Barchi presented SEC with recommendations in follow up to last year's study of the cost of research at the University. Neal Nathanson, Vice Provost for Research, and Barney Lentz, Director of Institutional Research, also attended the meeting. Following a discussion after the presentation, SEC plans to ask that these recommendations be published For Comment in Almanac.

4. New Business. There was no new business at this time.


Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate
FROM: Mitchell P. Marcus, Chair
SUBJECT: Senate Nominating Committee

1. In accordance with the requirements of the Faculty Senate Bylaws, notice is given to the Senate Membership of the Senate Executive Committee's 9-member slate of nominees for the Nominating Committee for 2002-2003. The Nominating Committee nominates candidates for election to the Offices of the Faculty Senate, to the at-large and assistant professor positions on the Senate Executive Committee, and to the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty, the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility, and the Senate Committee on Conduct. The nine nominees, all of whom have agreed to serve, are:

Stephanie Abbuhl (Emergency Med)
Sherrill Adams (Dental)
Helen C. Davies (Microbiology)
Sarah Kagan (Nursing)
Peter Kuriloff (GSE)
Herb Levine (Economics)
Ewa Morawska (Sociology)
Amita Sehgal (Neuroscience)
Don Silberberg (Neurology)

2. Pursuant to the Bylaws, additional nominations may be submitted by petition containing at least twenty-five signed names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received by February 4, 2003. If no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Executive Committee will be declared elected. If additional nominations are received, a mail ballot will be distributed to the Faculty Senate membership. Please forward any nominations by petition via intramural mail to the Faculty Senate, Box 9 College Hall/6303. Please forward any questions to Kristine Kelly by e-mail at or by telephone at (215) 898-6943.


  Almanac, Vol. 49, No. 18, January 21, 2003