April 24, 2001
Volume 47
Number 31

 SAS 2001 Teaching Awards

Ira Abrams Award for Distinguished Teaching:

Two faculty members have been selected as the 2001 Ira Abrams Award winners: Dr. Ivar Berg of the Department of Sociology, and Dr. Philip Nelson of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

A student writes that Dr. Berg, a former Dean of the College and Faculty Master of Goldberg College House in the Quadrangle, "is the embodiment of what a professor should be. Although he is committed to his own scholarly research, he is equally, if not more, committed to his students and to their own personal growth. He is one of the most approachable, generous, and dedicated professors I have encountered at Penn."

About Dr. Nelson, a colleague says, "In addition to a clear and engaging lecturing style, he has done the very best job of developing new courses which convey the excitement and the beauty of contemporary physics. [These courses] are triumphs--imaginative, substantive, and challenging. He is committed to conveying the aesthetic as well as the technical aspects of his subject."

Since its creation in 1983, the Ira H. Abrams Memorial Award for Distinguished Teaching has been the highest teaching honor in the School of Arts and Sciences. The award recognizes teaching that is intellectually challenging and exceptionally coherent and honors faculty who embody high standards of integrity and fairness, have a strong commitment to learning, and are open to new ideas.


School of Medicine's 2001 Teaching Awards

The following full-time faculty members in the tenure and clinician-educator tracks were chosen by the Faculty Teaching Awards Committee to receive this year's School of Medicine teaching awards. Nominations were solicited from faculty, house staff and students.

The Leonard Berwick Memorial Teaching Award, established in 1980-81 by the Berwick family and the department of pathology, recognizes a member of the medical faculty who in his or her teaching most effectively fuses basic science and clinical medicine. Two recipients were chosen this year: Dr. Stephen Kimmel and Dr. Emma Meagher.

Dr. Kimmel is an assistant professor in the cardiovascular division of the department of medicine, assistant professor of epidemiology in the department of biostatistics and epidemiology, and a senior scholar in the center for clinical epidemiology and biostatistics. His course on Cardiopulmonary Epidemiology has consistently received very high reviews, and Dr. Kimmel has been given a perfect score for his skills as an instructor, with comments such as "best course I've taken in the CCEB." Dr. Kimmel also serves as the Director of the Epidemiology Track of the MSCE Program. His enthusiasm and sense of humor in his teaching is contagious. Dr. Kimmel has consistently received the highest rankings possible from students, and he is equally well regarded by his peers for his ability to fuse the basic science of epidemiology with clinical medicine.

Dr. Emma Meagher, Assistant Professor of Medicine, is the Co-director of pharmacology education for medical students. Dr. Meagher is highly regarded by faculty and students alike for her enthusiasm for teaching and curriculum development. She has consistently emphasized the importance of integration of pharmacology and therapeutics throughout the medical school curriculum and has recently spearheaded an initiative to develop a new course on therapeutics. In addition to her role in medical student education, Dr. Meagher is also the director of the School of Medicine Patient Oriented Research Training Program for post-graduate students. Her clinical practice is in the area of cardiovascular risk assessment and management with a particular interest in hypertension, women's cardiovascular health and lipid disorders. She is the Associate Director of PENN CATCH, the Penn Center for the Assessment and Treatment of Complex Hypertension and, in addition is a member of the Cardiovascular Risk Intervention Program and the Center for Experimental Therapeutics.


Law School's Levin Award


The winner of the Law School's Harvey Levin Award for Excellence in Teaching is Matthew Adler, Professor of Law.

Professor Adler, who teaches both constitutional law and administrative law classes, said in a recent interview with the Penn Law Journal, "Seminars at this level are really like long conversations with my students. It's a tremendous pleasure." He continued, "The students are incredibly enthusiastic; there's a great degree of interest in class. I can't imagine just doing research and not having the time in the classroom."

Professor Adler joined the Penn Law School faculty in 1995, following clerkships with Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Sandra Day O'Connor, and Judge Harry Edwards of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the D. C. Circuit, and a year spent in private practice.

The Levin Award was established by the Philadelphia law firm of Schnader Harrison Segal and Lewis in 1978, to be awarded annually to a faculty member in recognition of teaching excellence. Each recipient is selected by a majority vote of students earning the J.D. that year. The law firm donates funds for books selected by each year's winner relating to his or her area of interest, to be placed in the Law School Library.

Larry Moneta to Duke

Dr. Larry Moneta, associate vice president for campus services since 1997, will leave Penn this summer to become Duke University's vice president for student affairs. That position is the senior administrative officer with responsibility for a broad range of student life programs and activities at Duke.

"We are pleased for Larry's good news, and we know that he will make a substantial contribution to Duke's student life during his tenure.

He consistently showed leadership on key projects, such as housing and dining renewal, Perelman Quad, and the emergence of the College House program, to name a few. Business Services and the University have greatly benefited from his work, and we are grateful for that," said Leroy D. Nunery, Penn's Vice President of Business Services.

Dr. Moneta came to Penn in 1992 as the associate vice provost for University Life, after having been the University of Massachusetts Housing Services' associate director for residential education.

Duke's President Nannerl O. Keohane said that Dr. Moneta will "be a key leader in linking students' academic and social growth and development. Building on Excellence, the university's new long-range academic plan, places high priority on strengthening linkages between academic and social life at Duke. We believe Larry is the ideal person to strengthen our programs and will be a strong leader of the professional staff in Student Affairs."

CLICK on Ben for 245th Commencement Information and School Ceremonies

Almanac, Vol. 47, No. 31, April 24, 2001