Honors & Other Things

Miller Award: Dr. Greenberg

Dr. Martin Greenberg, professor and chair of the department of oral medicine at the School of Dental Medicine, is being recognized by the American Academy of Oral Medicine for his achievements in the field. Dr. Greenberg is this year's recipient of the Samuel Charles Miller Award, to be presented at the Academy's 54th Annual Meeting, April 9-16, in Las Vegas.

The Samuel Charles Miller Award, named to honor the founder of the Academy, is given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution nationally and internationally to the advancement of oral medicine, and according to an Academy spokesperson, it is the highest award given in the field of oral medicine.

Dr. Greenberg founded the School's postdoctoral residency program in oral medicine, and his major clinical and research interests include the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the oral mucosa and the management of facial pain and temporomandibular joint disorders.

UCHS Preservation: Mr. Lussenhop

Tom Lussenhop, the managing director of Real Estate, has been recognized by the University City Historical Society (UCHS) for Outstanding Preservation for the restoration of Webster Manor at 4224-4240 Osage Avenue. Along with John McGarry of UCA Realty Group, the team was commended for transforming a "long-time neighborhood eyesore and problem building" into an attractive, functioning apartment house by the UCHS.

Neter Award: Dr. Douglas

Dr. Steven D. Douglas, professor of pediatrics, and associate chairman for academic affairs, department of pediatrics, and director, section of immunology and clinical immunology laboratories at CHOP, has been selected the Year 2000 recipient of the Association of Medical Laboratory Immunology (AMLI) Erwin Neter Award. This award in honor of the late Dr. Erwin Neter, founder of clinical laboratory immunology, is presented to recognize an individual who has made major accomplishments in the field of clinical laboratory immunology.

Dr. Douglas will present the AMLI Abbott/Erwin Neter Memorial Lecture entitled Monocytes and Natural Killer Cells-Probes of Innate Immunity and Disease at the 2000 annual meeting of the AMLI to be held in St. Petersburg, Florida on July 13, 2000.

Three Goldwater Scholars

Three students from Penn have won Goldwater Scholarship Awards this year. The scholars are selected on the basis of academic merit in the fields of math, science, and engineering. Students are nominated by faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The one and two year scholarships available to sophomores and juniors cover the cost of tuition, fees, books and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

The program honors the late Senator Barry M. Goldwater and is a federally-endowed agency established in 1986.

Joshua J. Gruber, Col '02, biochemistry/physics. His career goal is to obtain a Ph.D. in biophysics/biochemistry and pursue basic science research as a professor or as the head of a research institute in either industry or academia.

Clifford P. Haugen, EAS '01, environmental systems/environmental management. His career goal is to pursue a Ph.D. in environmental engineering systems and conduct basic and applied research studying the environmental impact of industrial activities.

Daniel J. Sherman, Col '01, physics. His career goal is to complete a Ph.D. in theoretical physics and astrophysics, conduct research in physics and eventually teach at the university level.

Alice Paul, Lenore Williams and R.E. Davies Awards

At its annual spring awards breakfast on April 6, the Association of Women Faculty and Administrators honored Dr. Barbara Lowery and Kathryn Kolbert, two students and one student organization for scholarship and service.

   The Lenore Rowe Williams Award was presented to Dr. Barbara J. Lowery, associate provost, for "providing a role model of distinguished academic achievement and outstanding public service at Penn for all women to emulate." The award was established by the bequest of the late Mrs. Williams, wife of the former provost Edwin B. Williams.

The Robert E. Davies Award was presented to Kathryn Kolbert, a senior research administrator at the Annenberg Public Policy Center, for "her tireless work for reproductive rights both locally and nationwide and for devoting her superb communication and legal skills for defending the rights of women everywhere." This award was established in 1994 to honor the late Benjamin Franklin Professor Robert E. Davies and is given for involvement in providing equal rights for women.   

Two Alice Paul Awards were given to students: The first Alice Paul Award was given to Julie Torres Moskovitz (Master of Architecture student) for her leadership role in GSFA and her role in organizing with others two major and highly successful events: The 1999 Women in Design Series and for Martin Luther King Day, Forum on Repossessing Urban Spaces: Emergent Paradigms.

The second Alice Paul Award was presented to Janet Lewis (MSN student in the School of Nursing) for her outstanding contributions to women in the Penn community, and for her efforts to assist women in Philadelphia in the childbirth process, as founding member of the Philadelphia Alliance for Labor Support (PALS) and as one of the creators of the Wise Women Center.

The third Alice Paul award went to a group rather than an individual in Penn Students Against Sweatshops for the PSAS leadership's "vision, commitment and activism on behalf of the economic, social and political plight of a predominantly female workforce who work in some of the worst conditions possible to produce collegewear for the USA. The core leadership group of women and men worked together in a consensus model rarely evidenced in today's world and built coalitions across Penn's campus and other campuses."

The Alice Paul Awards are named for the Penn alumna who founded the National Women's Party and wrote the Equal Rights Amendment. It is given to undergraduate or graduate women in recognition of their outstanding service to women in the Penn community.

Almanac, Vol. 46, No. 28, April 11, 2000