Wind Ensemble's First CD

(Click CD image for song sample.)

The University of Pennsylvania Wind Ensemble has released its first CD recording.

Under the direction of Ricardo Averbach, the Wind Ensemble celebrated its first recording with a varied concert program, including the Don Giovanni Overture and "The Abduction" from the Seraglio by Mozart, "Spring" from The Four Seasons by Vivaldi, "Mars" and "Jupiter" from The Planets by Holst, Festive Overture by Shostakovich (arranged by Hunsberger).

The ensemble also performed Allegro Volante for xylophone and band, composed by Penn alumnus Daniel Dorff, Composer-in-Residence for the Haddonfielde Symphony. Dorff's Three Fun Fables will be premiered by the Philadelphia Orchestra in April of this year under the direction of Wolfgang Sawallisch. Percussionist William Kerrigan, who performs with the Delaware Symphony and Orchestra 2001, was the featured soloist during the Penn Wind Ensemble's performance of Dorff's Allegro Volante.

The Wind Ensemble's first CD, which was available for sale at the concert, is available through the Music Department, Room 202, S. 34th St., for $10. Make checks payable to the Trustees of University of Pennsylvania. It includes a performance of Copland's Lincoln Portrait narrated by Penn president Judith Rodin. In addition, the CD features previously unreleased music by Penn composers Jay Reise and Gerald Levinson, as well as the world premiere recording of Villa-Lobos' Fantasy in Three Movements, performed jointly with the Yale Concert Band.

More Penn Recordings

Other recordings by University artists which are available at the University Bookstore are:

  • Souled Out by Chord on Blues
  • High Dive, Housekeeping by Counterparts
  • Patio by Off the Beat
  • Awaaz by Penn Masala
  • Elixir by Pennsylvania Six-5000
  • Testify by Full Measure
  • Hail Pennsylvania, In Song of Course by Penn Glee Club
  • Broken Souls by Mathew Barkan
  • Destiny by Rob Murat
  • Headed in the Wrong Direction, by Dave Goldman
  • Marian Anderson, Rare and Unpublished Recordings 1936-1952 by Marian Anderson.

To hear a sample of the CD click here, (Note: For best results, turn up your monitor's volume).

The sample you will hear is an excerpt of Copland's Lincoln Portrait, narrated by Judith Rodin, with orchestral accompaniment by the University Wind Ensemble. 

Almanac, Vol. 46, No. 27, April 4, 2000