Alcohol Coordinator: Stephanie Ives

Stephanie Ives, a specialist in drug and alcohol programs who has led in a nationally recognized campaign to contain alcohol abuse at the University of Arizona, has been named to Penn's newly-established position of University Alcohol Coordinator.

Vice Provost for University Life Dr. Valarie Swain-Cade McCoullum made the appointment, effective August 25, following the release of Penn's revised Alcohol Policy (click here).

Stephanie Ives took her B.A. in English from Arizona in 1992, and an M.A. in Higher Education there in 1996. She spent four years with Arizona's Campus Health Service as an Alcohol and Other Drug Specialist/Health Educator, 1994-1998. While at Arizona, Ms. Ives coordinated a major social marketing campaign which Dr. Cade said "helped change students' misperceptions about alcohol abuse and misuse on campus, contributing to a healthier social climate.

"We are absolutely delighted to welcome Stephanie Ives to Penn," Dr. Cade continued. "She is an extraordinarily talented health educator of national standing with terrific experience in efforts to help curb alcohol abuse among college students." Ms. Ives developed and coordinated an award-winning social marketing media campaign to reduce binge drinking among college students; developed a model skill-building class for students cited for first-time alcohol-related misdemeanors; and coordinated a community alliance to address high-risk off-campus environments, Dr. Cade added. Ms. Ives was also an active volunteer with the Tucson Rape Crisis Center and a member of its Board of Directors.

The position of Alcohol Coordinator was created to consolidate the education, counseling, and treatment of alcohol-related issues at the University of Pennsylvania. Ives will develop and implement an integrative process of enforcement, education, and support services based on the recommendations of the Working Group on Alcohol Abuse. Ms. Ives will develop educational formats and activities for students.

"Stephanie has just the kind of profile we need to carry forward the important initiatives put into place by the Working Group on Alcohol Abuse," said Provost Robert Barchi. "She has experience in the field of alcohol abuse on a college campus; she is creative and energetic; and she has demonstrated an ability to communicate with a wide variety of constituencies including students, faculty, staff and community members. President Rodin and I are very pleased to welcome her to Penn."

"I am thrilled to work with a university and with students who are proactively addressing alcohol issues on campus," said Ms. Ives. "I look forward to building on the splendid work already accomplished by the Working Group on Alcohol Abuse and by concerned students, faculty, and staff."

Following is the membership of the Alcohol Rapid Response Team called for in the new University Alcohol Policy.


Alcohol Rapid Response Team

  • Dr. Robert Barchi, Provost (Chair)
  • Mr. Richard Adzei, C '00, Bicultural InterGreek Council (BIG-C)
  • Mr. Michael Bassik, C '01, Vice Chair, Undergraduate Assembly
  • Dr. Herman Beavers, Director of Afro-American Studies
  • Mr. Reginald Brown, C '00, President, Student Athlete Advisory Committee
  • Dr. David Brownlee, Director of College Houses/Faculty Master, Harnwell College House,
  • Dr. Valarie Swain-Cade McCoullum, Vice Provost for University Life
  • Dr. Conn Peter, Deputy Provost
  • Mr. Andrew Exum, C '00, Interfraternity Council
  • Mr. Steven Fechheimer, WH '00, IFC Judicial Committee
  • Ms. Alzena Galaria, C '00, President, Drug and Alcohol Resource Team (DART)
  • Ms. Elizabeth Gesas, C '02, Goldberg College House
  • Ms. Michele Goldfarb, Director, Office of Student Conduct
  • Mr. Louis (Tripp) Hornick, III, C '02, Interfraternity Council
  • Ms. Rebecca Iverson, President, Panhellenic Council
  • Ms. Stephanie Ives, Alcohol Coordinator
  • Ms. Jennifer Jong, C '01, President, Residential Advisory Board
  • Mr. Theo LeCompte, Committee for Tangible Change
  • Ms. Lisa Marshall, Committee for Tangible Change
  • Mr. Mark Metzl, President, Interfraternity Council
  • Dr. Philip Nichols, Faculty Master, Stouffer College House
  • Ms. Kendra Nicholson, Graduate and Professional Students Assembly
  • Mr. Jason Post, C '01, Sigma Alpha Mu
  • Ms. Melanie Redmond, C '00, Office Manager, Du Bois College House
  • Mr. Michael Silver, Chair, Undergraduate Assembly


  • Ms. Jennifer Baldino, Director of External Affairs, Office of the President
  • Ms. Nancy Nowicki, Executive Director of External Affairs, Office of the Provost

Almanac, Vol. 46, No. 2, September 7, 1999