March 30, 1999
Volume 45
Number 26

Faculty Senate Officers Elected for 1999-2000

No additional nominations were received by the deadline and therefore the Senate Nominating Committee's slate of nominees is hereby declared elected. Effective May 5, 1999, the Faculty Senate Officers for the coming year will be:

Chair: Peter J. Conn (English)
Past Chair: John C. Keene (city & reg'l plng)
Chair-elect: Larry Gross (communication)
Secretary: Rosane Rocher (S. Asia reg. st)
Past Secretary: Martin Pring (physiol/med)
Secretary-elect: Sarah H. Kagan (nursing)
Newly elected as at-large members of the Senate Executive Committee for 3-year terms:
Anita Allen Castellitto (law)
Stephen Gluckman (medicine)
Ann Mayer (legal studies)
Tukufu Zuberi (sociology)
Newly elected as an at-large member of the Senate Executive Committee for a 2-year term:
John Richetti (English)
Newly elected as an assistant professor member of the Senate Executive Committee for a 2-year term:
Barbara von Schlegell (religious studies)
Newly elected to the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility for 3-year terms:
Marvin Lazerson (education)
Sheila H. Murnaghan (classical studies)
Sally Zigmond (biology)
Newly elected to the Senate Committee on Conduct for 2-year terms:
Joan Goodman (education)
M. Susan Lindee (hist & sociol sci)
Edward R. Thornton (chemistry)
Newly elected to the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty for 3-year terms:
Andrew Postlewaite (economics)
Ellen Prince (linguistics)

 Faculty Senate leadership, starting May 5: John Keene, top, becomes past chair; Peter Conn, center, is chair; and Larry Gross, bottom, is chair-elect.


The terms of the new Faculty Senate Officers and the newly elected members of the Senate Executive Committee begin with the taking up of new business at the Senate Executive Committee meeting scheduled for May 5, 1999. The terms of the newly elected members of the Committees on Academic Freedom and Responsibility, Conduct, and Economic Status of the Faculty begin on May 1. Full committee memberships will be published this fall in Almanac, or please contact Carolyn Burdon, Box 12 College Hall/6303; telephone: 898-6943; e-mail: burdon@pobox.upenn.edu.

Dental Med: Groundbreaking April 5

On Monday, April 5, the School of Dental Medicine will break ground for its Robert Schattner Center, a state-of-the-art clinical facility that will link the School's historic Evans Building with the newer Leon Levy Center to create a unified Dental campus, with a single entrance, along 40th Street between Spruce and Locust Streets.

Construction of the Schattner Center is the first phase of the School's Gateway Campaign, an ambitious program of renovation and construction that will bring School facilities into the 21st century, Dean Raymond Fonseca said.

The cornerstone of the School's capital campaign is a record-setting gift from Dr. Robert Schattner, a 1948 alumnus of the School whose commitment of $4 million to create and furnish the Center represents the largest gift in the Dental School's history. Dr. Schattner, president of Sporicidin, is the inventor of Chloraseptic mouthwash. In 1987, the American Association of Entrepreneurial Dentists named Dr. Schattner "Dentist of the Year." Dr. Schattner has also been recognized by the Columbia Lighthouse for the Blind and by the Association for Physical and Mental Rehabilitation for his work with the physically handicapped.

The Center is expected to open by Fall 2000, housing many of the School's facilities for patient care, including a new patient admissions and emergency clinic, an oral and maxillofacial surgery clinic, and a specialized facility for medically compromised patients, including those with HIV. Plans for the 55,000-square-foot building also provide for patient meeting areas, conference rooms, faculty offices and a gallery to display the art collection donated to the School by its nineteenth-century benefactor, Thomas Evans.

More than 16,000 people now use the School's clinics for their care, the Dean said.

Looking west from 40th Street, the School of Dental Medicine complex as unified by the Robert Schattner Center.

Almanac, Vol. 45, No. 26, March 30, 1999