AWFA Awards: Call for Nominations

The Association of Women Faculty and Administrators (AWFA) invites nominations for three annual awards to be presented at our April awards breakfast, scheduled for Tuesday, April 13 at 8 a.m. at the Faculty Club. Nominations are invited for the following awards:

The Lenore Williams Award

In 1984, AWFA received a bequest from Lenore Williams, wife of former provost Edwin B. Williams. In her honor, the Association established an award to be given each year to an outstanding female scholar or leader. Preference will be given to a distinguished woman, affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania, whose contributions extend within and beyond our campus.

The Alice Paul Awards

The Alice Paul Awards, named in honor of Dr. Alice Paul--suffragist leader, founder of the National Women's Party, author of the Equal Rights Amendment, and internationally known humanitarian--are presented to undergraduate or graduate women in recognition of their outstanding service to women. We particularly wish to honor those who made contributions to women in the Penn community.

The Robert E. Davies Award

This award is in honor of the late feminist and distinguished Penn scholar. The award will be bestowed on an individual involved in social change.

With your nomination for a particular award, please include the following:

  • Specify award
  • Name of nominee
  • The nature of the nominee's achievement and how their contribution is meritorious
  • Position of nominee, mailing address, phone number, e-mail address
  • Nominator's name, position, mailing address, phone number, e-mail address

Please submit nominations no later than March 17, 1999 to:

Dr. Ann R. Kennedy
Professor, Radiation Oncology
195 John Morgan
3620 Hamilton Walk/6072

--Laurie Cousart, AWFA Board Member

Almanac, Vol. 45, No. 22, February 23, 1999