HONORS & ...Other Things

Wyck-Strickland Award to Dr. De Long

Dr. David G. De Long, professor of architecture and of city and regional planning at the Graduate School of Fine Arts, is this year's winner of the prestigious Wyck-Strickland Award, given by the Germantown-based Wyck Association to honor those who have made outstanding contributions in the fields of architecture and preservation "with an understanding of and sensitivity to the past." Dr. De Long--who recently returned from the American Academy in Rome, where he served as the first James Marston Fitch Resident in Historic Preservation--was chair of Penn's Graduate Program in Historic Preservation from 1984-1996. He is internationally recognized for his many contributions as historian and educator, author, preservationist, curator and designer. His most recent book, Frank Lloyd Wright and the Living City, was published this year by the Vitra Design Museum, and will be released in the U.S. in January, 1999.



Alumni Award of Merit to Dr. Deubler

The University's Alumni Award of Merit was given Homecoming Weekend to Dr. M. Josephine Deubler, the internationally renowned expert on dogs who is professor emeritus of the School of Veterinary Medicine. Despite becoming profoundly deaf in early childhood, Dr. Deubler became the first woman to graduate from Penn's Vet School when she took her V.M.D. here in 1938. She also earned her Ph.D. at Penn, in 1944. In her 53 years on the faculty, she combined her research into diseases afflicting animals with a talent as breeder, exhibitor and judge of dogs, and added still other dimensions to animal care by establishing the School's popular

Canine Symposium and Feline Symposium. Dr. Deubler holds the School's Bellwether Medal, Centennial Medal, and School alumni award; and the fully-endowed Dr. M. Josephine Deubler Dean's Scholarships as well as the Jose-phine Deubler Genetic Disease Testing Laboratory are named for her.

The Alumni Society also gave Awards of Merit to Howard P. Berkowitz, Wh '62, who chaired the 25th reunion that gave the University Ben on the Bench; Dr. Priscilla A. Chung, CGS '71, G '77, president of the Hong Kong Alumni Club and head of the Board's Scholarship Committee; D. Michael Crow, Wh '68, WhG '70, founder and first president of the Dallas Alumni Club; Gerald H. McGinley, Wh '52, who established the Edward F. McGinley, Jr. Scholarship Fund in his father's honor as well as the George Munger Endowment Fund; Irving Mendelson, Wh'41, who chaired the 25th reunion that created the Penn Hall of Fame in inter-collegiate athletics; and Robert S. Sandler, Wh '52, who was president of the Westchester/Rockland Counties Alumni Association for 16 years.

Muscle Institute Symposium Honoring Dr. Nachmias

The Pennsylvania Muscle Institute's Sixth Annual Retreat and Symposium, to be held Monday, November 16, in the Robert Austrian Auditorium of the Clinical Research Building, honors Dr. Vivianne T. Nachmias, a professor emeritus of cell and developmental biology who did pioneering work on contractile proteins in non-muscle cells. An extremely important recent contribution from her lab, notes a colleague, is the identification of an actin-binding protein, T-beta4, essential for the motile functions of platelets and white blood cells.

The day-long symposium on Control and Dynamics of the Cytoskeleton opens at 9 a.m. with a welcome from the Institute's director, Dr. Yale E. Goldman.

Morning presentations will be:

  • 9:10 a.m.: Tau, Tangles and Mutations: AD and Related Tauopathies, by Dr. Virginia M-Y. Lee, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, PennMed;
  • 10 a.m.: Regulation of Microtubule Dynamics by Onco-protein 18: Dual Routes to a Catastrophe, by Dr. Lynne Cassimeris, Biological Sciences, Lehigh;
  • 10:55 a.m.: Regulation of Actin Polymerization by Cdc42, by Dr. Sally H. Zigmond, Biology, SAS;
  • 11:25 a.m.: Signaling from Cdc42p to the Actin Cytoskeleton in Yeast, by Dr. Erfei Bi, Cell & Developmental Biology, PennMed.

The afternoon sessions will include:

  • 2 p.m.: Cofilin Regulates Actin Filament Dynamics and Assembly--More Twists in the Tale, by Dr. Amy McGough, Department of Biochemistry, Baylor College of Medicine;
  • 2:40 p.m.: Myosin V, by Dr. H. Lee Sweeney, Physiology, PennMed;
  • 3:25 p.m.: Structural Dynamics of Myosin by Single Molecule Fluorescence Polarization Microscopy, by Margot Quinlan, Pennsylvania Muscle Institute, University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
  • 3:55 p.m.: Annual Robert E. Davies Distinguished Lecture--Probing the Mechanisms of Eukaryotic Cytokinesis, by Dr. James A. Spudich, Biochemistry, Stanford University Medical Center.

Reservations are required for a 6:30 p.m. dinner at the Penn Tower Hotel ($30 senior investigators, $20 junior investigators). For reservations or further information: Joanne Howard, 898-4543.

Almanac, Vol. 45, No. 11, November 10, 1998