HONORS & Other Things

AWFA's Alice Paul, R.E. Davies and Leonore Williams Awards

Three women faculty and 11 students were honored at the 1998 awards breakfast of the Association of Women Faculty and Administrators this month:

Professor Lani Guinier of the Law School received the Robert E. Davies award for "...outstanding contributions to her profession, her university and her community for her special efforts to promote equal opportunities for women and for minority populations." Professor Guinier, an affiliate of the Women's Studies Program, is particularly well known in women's education for her studies of differences in the way women and men learn. At the end of this year, her ninth at Penn, Professor Guinier leaves to become Harvard's first woman law professor.

Two members of the faculty received Leonore Rowe Williams Awards for "promoting social change and social justice at Penn and beyond."

- Dr. Mary Frances Berry, the Geraldine R Segal Professor of American Social Thought and professor of history. The former Assistant Secretary for Education in the Carter administration was also the first woman chancellor of the University of Colorado before joining Penn.

- Dr. Linda P. Brown, professor of nursing at the School of Nursing, an international leader in studies on breast feeding and infant development, and also a leader in mentoring programs.

The Alice Paul Awards, named for the late Penn Social Work alumna who wrote the original Equal Rights Amendment and founded The Women's Party, were made to four individual students and to one team of six.

  • Vincena Allen, a second-year Social Work student and B-GAPSA chair who created new communications links for black grad students.
  • Janice Ferebee, a second year student in SSW; a former editor of Seventeen Magazine who now writes and counsels young people in developing skills and self-awareness.
  • Karen Pasternack, a senior, English major and Daily Pennsylvanian columnist cited particularly for independent writing including an interpretation of Ulysses done during an internship at Kings College, London.
  • Titi Yu, a sophomore international relations major who chaired Penn NOW and served on the editorial board of Voyage Out.
  • The team of Rachel Goldfarb, '99, Debra Kurshan, '00, Emily Pollack, '00, Sara Shenkan, '00, Laura Schulman,'98, and Roshini Thayaparan, '99, whose exploration of group-centered leadership for women and men resulted in the series, "Women in Leadership" which sponsored notable speakers (including New Jersey Governor Christine Todd Whitman) and a dinner with the Trustees' Council of Penn Women.

Still Another Award for Book

Dr. Thomas J. Sugrue, associate professor of history, was one of three recipients of the 1998 Bancroft Prize, one the most prestigious awards in the field of history, presented by Columbia University on April 8, to recognize books of exceptional merit in history, biography, and diplomacy. This is the fourth award for Dr. Sugrue's The Origins of the Urban Crisis: Race and Inequality in Postwar Detroit since it came out from Princeton's press in 1996.

To Lead Tech Management Body

Louis P. Berneman, who as Managing Director for the Center for Technology Transfer is the person Penn faculty turn to for help in obaining patents and copyrights, has been elected President Elect of the Association of University Technology Managers. AUTM is a nonprofit professional organization of technology transfer professionals from universities, nonprofit research institutions and government and industry with more than 1,900 members representing some 250 academic institutions and an equal number of companies throughout the U.S. and Canada.

Ed. Note: Only the May 5, May 12 and May 26 issues remain before break, so any additional honors should be forwarded promptly.

Almanac, Vol. 44, No. 31, April 28, 1998