Front Page

Job Opps


Between Issues

Welcome Back: From the President

Almanac Homepage

Compass Homepage

Staff Box

Search Committee for Provost

I am pleased to announce the formation of the committee to advise on the search for a new Provost. Dr. Thomas P. Gerrity, Dean of the Wharton School, has agreed to chair the committee. Serving with him are:

Dr. Herman Beavers, Associate Professor of English and Director of Afro-American Studies,

Mr. Rasool Berry, C '99

Prof. Stephen B. Burbank, David Berger Professor of Law

Dr. William J. Donawick, Mark Whittier & Lila Griswold Allam Professor

of Surgery at New Bolton Center

Mr. Owen Garrick, WhG '98

Dr. Glen N. Gaulton, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine,

Associate Dean of the Combined Degree Program, and Director of

Biomedical Graduate Studies, Medicine

Dr. Eduardo D. Glandt, Heuer Professor of Chemical Engineering, SEAS

Ms. Rachel Goldfarb, C '99

Dr. Larry Gross, Professor of Communication, Annenberg

Prof. Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr., Trustee Professor of Law

Dr. Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey, Sylvan Eisman Professor of Medicine and

Director of the Institute on Aging

Dr. Marvin Lazerson, Carruth Family Professor of Education, GSE

Dr. Jeremy Sabloff, Professor of Anthropology and

Charles K. Williams II Director of the University Museum

Dr. Joyce E. Thompson, Professor of Nursing

Ms. Sandra K. Tilford, EdG '98

Staffing the Committee is Rebecca Trumbull, senior planning associate, School of Medicine administration.

As we prepare ourselves for the 21st century, the leadership of the Provost is more important than ever. This is unquestionably a key search for the University, and I am delighted and appreciative that such talented people have agreed to take on the task.

-- Judith Rodin, President

Return to:Almanac, University of Pennsylvania, January 13, 1998, Volume 44, Number 17