From the Senate Office

Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notication to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate
FROM: Vivian C. Seltzer, Chair
SUBJECT: Nominations to Senate Posts

The Senate Nominating Committee was reconvened to ll several vacancies, all terms effective May 1, 1997. The following nominations are the result:

1. In accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules, ofcial notice is given of the Senate Nominating Committee's slate of nominees. The nominees, who have indicated their willingness to serve, are:

One At-large Member of the Senate Executive Committee,

1-year term: Mark Stern (sociology)

One Assistant Professor Member of SEC,

2-year term: Georgette Poindexter (real estate)

Two Members of the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

2-year term: Susan Watkins (sociology)

1-year term: E. Ann Matter (religious studies)

One Member of the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty,

1-year term: Samuel H. Preston (sociology)

2. Again, in accord with the Senate Rules you are invited to submit "additional nominations,which shall be accomplished via petitions containing at least twenty-ve valid names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received no later than fourteen days subsequent to the circulation of the nominees of the Nominating Committee. Nominations will automatically be closed fourteen days after circulation of the slate of the Nominating Committee." Pursuant to this provision, petitions must be received by mail at the Faculty Senate, Box 12 College Hall/6303, or by hand at the Faculty Senate Ofce, 210 Houston Hall by 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, September 16, 1997.

3. Under the same provision of the Senate Rules, if no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Nominating Committee will be declared elected. Should additional nominations be received, an election will thereafter be held by mail ballot.

The following agenda is published in accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules. Questions directed to Carolyn Burdon either by telephone at 898-6943 or by e-mail at

Agenda of the Senate Executive Committee Meeting
Wednesday, September 3, 1997, 3-5:30 p.m.

  1. Approval of the minutes of May 7, 1997
  2. Chair's Report, including introduction of Faculty Senate Committee chairs
  3. Past Chair's Report on activities of the Academic Planning and Budget Committee and on the Capital Council
  4. Informal discussion with the President and Provost
  5. Disability Policy proposed by the Senate Committee on the Faculty
  6. Discussion with faculty liaisons to the Trustee Committees on Academic Policy, Jere Behrman and Larry Gross, and on Budget and Finance, Mark Pauly and Samuel Preston
  7. Discussion with Vice Provost for Information Systems and Computing James O'Donnell on information technology explosion and implications for the faculty
  8. Other new business
  9. Adjournment by 5:30 p.m.