Four New Degrees...Neurosurgery a Department

At the May 2 meeting of the Trustees Executive Committee, approval was given to four new professional master's degree programs--three of them in the School of Arts and Sciences (in bioethics, in environmental studies and in philosopy) and the fourth a joint degree in biotechnology in SAS and the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

The trustees also approved the formal establishment of the Department of Neurosurgery in the School of Medicine, where it has been "virtually autonomous from the Department of Surgery" for some 40 years, and for some years has been listed as a department in School literature.

Also formalized was the naming of the Kelly Writers House in honor of the donor whose gift will shortly launch its renovations.

Financing Three Facilities Projects

On the recommendation of the Budget and Finance Committee, the trustees approved three projects that will result in physical improvements:


Volume 43 Number 33
May 6, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.