HONORS & Other Things

Guggenheim Fellow: Dr. De Long

Dr. David G. De Long, professor of architecture at the Graduate School of Fine Arts, has received a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Award. He will spend a year on a project on "20th Century Alterations to Significant American Buildings."

Fulbright Awards: Drs. Cotroneo, McIntosh, Engheta

Among the nation's 1600 scholars who will pursue work abroad in 1997-98 as recipients of Fulbright awards are:

Dr. Margaret Cotroneo, associate professor of psychiatric mental health nursing, who will work with Dr. Christel Bienstein at the University of Witten/Herdecke's Institute für Pflegewissenshaft.

Dr. Tracy K. McIntosh, professor of neurosurgery and director of PennMed's Head Injury Center, who will work with Drs. Anders Bjorklund and Tadeusz Wieloch of Sweden's University of Lund; they are world authorities in Parkinson's disease and stroke.

Dr. Nader Engheta, professor of electrical engineering, who will spend March through May at the University of Naples under a Fulbright Chair Award.

APS's Jefferson Medal: Dr. Roland Frye

The American Philosophical Society's Thomas Jefferson Medal for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities was presented to Penn's Dr. Roland Mushat Frye last week. Dr. Frye, the Schelling Professor of English Literature, Emeritus, was chosen for the Society's highest award in the humanities, social sciences, or arts in recognition of his life as "a brilliant scholar of English literature from Shakespeare to Milton, who "...interpreted the writings of important literary figures in the context of the human experience of their times," said William Golden, Vice President of the Society in announcing the presentation.

Cosmos Club Award: Dr. Rhoads

In Washington, D.C., Dr. Jonathan Rhoads received the 34th annual Cosmos Club Award. Cited as one of the greatest surgeons of our time, Dr. Rhoads was honored for "outstanding national leadership in surgical medicine," including advancements in cancer control and pioneering in fundamental applications of physiological and nutritional principles to the care of surgical patients. Dr. Rhoads is the former president of the American Philosophical Society, former Penn Provost and longtime chief of surgery for whom the Rhoads Pavilion is named.

Sir John Charnley Award: Dr. Lotke

On April 12 Dr. Paul Lotke, professor of orthopaedic sergery and chief of the Implant Service at PennMed, received the coveted Sir John Charnley Award from the Eastern Pennsylvania hapter of the Arthritis Foundation. A world-renowned specialist in total knee and total joint surgery, pulmoray embolism, venous trhombosis and problems related to arthritic knees, Dr. Lotke donates a great deal of his time and surgical talents in third world countries where he treats the injured and trains doctors and students in new surgical procedures.

Three Fellowships: Ms. Gordon

Sarah Barringer Gordon, assistant professor of law, has been awarded three prestigious research fellowships for the coming year for her work on the legal history of religion, property and marriage. One is from the Pew Program in Religion and American History at Yale, and another is the Laurence S. Rockefeller Fellowhip of Princeton's Center for Human Values. The third names her a Fletcher Foundation Fellow of The Huntington in San Marino, California.

Alice Paul Awards, Williams and Davies Awards

At the annual awards breakfast of the Association of Women Faculty and Administrators, the organization's 1997 honors were:

The Alice Paul Award, which is given to undergraduate and graduate students for outstanding service, went to Erme Maula and Iris Grissel Hernandez, both members of Nursing's Class of 1997; Janine M. Denomme, an SAS graduate student in American Civilization; and Sasha Schamber, C '98, for her work with the Center for Bioethics.

The Leonore Rowe Williams Award in recognition of outstanding women faculty or staff for service to women on campus, was made to Barbara Cassel, Assistant Vice Provost for University Life. The Williams Award was established by a bequest of the widow of the late dean and provost, Dr. Edwin Williams. Williams Hall is also named for the couple.

The Robert E. Davies Award, which recognizes distinguished service to women and society both on campus and off, was presented to the Vice Provost for University Life, Dr. Valarie Swain-Cade McCoullum, for achievements on behalf of all students at the University--and for her widely -heralded turnaround of Cheyney University during her year as its interim president in 1983-84.

Returning to Penn: Dr. Hackney

Dr. F. Sheldon Hackney, Penn's president from 1980 until 1993 when he was named by President Clinton to head the National Endowment for the Humanities, has announced that on August 1 he will return to his faculty position as professor of history at the University. Dr. Hackney came to Penn as a noted historian of the South who had made early use of computers in a prize-winning book, Populism to Progressivism in Alabama (Princeton 1969). He taught regularly while serving as presiden here.

To a New Health Care Commission: Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey

Dr. Risa Lavzzo-Mourey, director of the Institute on Aging here, has been appointed by President Clinton to the newly-established Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Health Care Industry.

The Commission's charge includes developing a consumer bill of rights and ensuring "that the sickest and most vulnerable patients are receiving the best possible medical care," said the White House announcement of her appointment. A national expert on health care policy, Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey is chief of Geriatrics and Associate Vice President for Health Policy at PennMed.

Recognizing Emeritus Professors

Last week President Judith Rodin again held a formal recognition ceremony and luncheon for professors moving to emeritus status. This year's honorees were:

Arts and Sciences
Dr. Siegfried Wenzel, Professor Emeritus of English
Dr. Charles Minott, Associate Professor Emeritus, History of Art

Dental Medicine
Dr. Herber T. Graver, Associate Professor Emeritus of Restorative Dentistry

Dr. F. William Bora, Professor Emeritus of Orthopaedic Surgery
Dr. Carl T. Brighton, Professor Emeritus of Orthopaedic Surgery
Dr. Frederic D. Burg, Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics
Dr. Donald B. Martin, Professor Emeritus of Medicine
Dr. Frank A. Pepe, Professor Emeritus, Cell and Developmental Biology
Dr. Elias Schwartz, Professor Emeritus of Medicine

Dr. Richard Rowan, Professor Emeritus of Management


Volume 43 Number 32
April 29, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.