SENATE From the Senate Office

Slate of Nominees for 1997-98

Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate
FROM: Peter J. Kuriloff, Chair
SUBJECT: Senate Nominations 1997-98

  1. In accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules, official notice is given of the Senate Nominating Committee's slate of nominees for the incoming Senate Officers. The nominees, all of whom have indicated their willingness to serve, are:

    Chair-elect: John C. Keene (prof city & reg plng)
    Secretary-elect: Margaret Mills (prof folklore & folklife)

    At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee
    (to serve a 3-year term beginning May, 1997):
    Larry D. Gladney (assoc prof physics)
    Howard Lesnick (prof law)
    Ann O'Sullivan (assoc prof nursing)
    Daniel D. Perlmutter (prof chem engr)

    (to serve a 2-year term beginning May, 1997)
    Barry S. Cooperman (prof chemistry)

    Two Assistant Professor Members of the Senate Executive Committee
    (to serve a 2-year term beginning May, 1997):
    Julie Fairman (nursing)
    Kathleen Hall (education)

    Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility
    (to serve a 3-year term beginning May, 1997):
    Jere R. Behrman (prof economics)
    Oscar Gandy (prof communication)
    Edward N. Pugh (prof psychology)

    Senate Committee on Conduct
    (to serve a 2-year term beginning May, 1997):
    Joan Goodman (prof education)
    M. Susan Lindee (assoc prof history & sociol sci)
    Edward R. Thornton (prof chemistry)

    (to serve a 1-year term beginning May, 1997):
    Vivian L. Gadsden (assoc prof educ)
    Hermann Pfefferkorn (prof geology)

    Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty
    (to serve a 3-year term beginning May, 1997):
    Jane Barnsteiner (assoc prof nursing)
    Rebecca Maynard (education)

  2. Again in accord with the Senate Rules you are invited to submit "additional nominations,which shall be accomplished via petitions containing at least twenty-five valid names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received no later than fourteen days subsequent to the circulation of the nominees of the Nominating Committee. Nominations will automatically be closed fourteen days after circulation of the slate of the Nominating Committee." Pursuant to this provision, petitions must be received by mail at the Faculty Senate, Box 12 College Hall/6303, or by hand at the Faculty Senate Office, 210 Houston Hall by 5 p.m., Tuesday, April 29, 1997.

  3. Under the same provision of the Senate Rules, if no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Nominating Committee will be declared elected. Should additional nominations be received, an election will thereafter be held by mail ballot.


Volume 43 Number 30
April 15, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.