Teaching Awards 1997: The School of Medicine

From the office of Dr. William N. Kelley, Dean of the School of Medicine, here is this year's list of honorees for outstanding teaching in various settings, both classroom and clinical, with a few words excerpted from the nominations that led to their selection. PennMed Teaching Awards winners are recognized at the School Commencement.

The Leonard Berwick Memorial Teaching Award: This award honors a younger faculty member "who in his or her teaching fuses basic science and clinical medicine."

The 1997 recipient is Horace M. DeLisser, M.D., assistant professor of medicine in the Pulmonary and Critical Care division at HUP who "teaches enthusiastically and effectively in any setting, but his exceptional strength is at the medical student level teaching pulmonary pathophysiology and medical ethics. His modest, unassuming, unpretentious manner deflects interest away from himself toward his subject matter." Dr. DeLisser also "consistently volunteered his time to conduct review sessions...and has been a most inspiring role model for us to emulate."

The Blockley-Osler Award: Created in 1987 by the Blockley Section of the Philadelphia College of Physicians, this award is given annually to a member of the faculty at an affiliated hospital for excellence in teaching modern clinical medicine at the bedside in the tradition of Dr. William Osler and others who taught at Philadelphia General Hospital.

The 1997 recipient of the Blockley-Osler Award is E. Cabrina Campbell, M.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at the VAMC. "In the short time that she has been an attending on the V.A. Psychiatry Service, Dr. Campbell has emerged as one of the most gifted and inspiring teachers in our department," says a fellow faculty member. She has also been "consistently applauded by students and residents for her outstanding gifts as a teacher and clinician..." A former student of Dr. Campbell commented that she "has an excellent fund of knowledge, but more importantly, she is a wonderful human being, an ideal teacher, and a role model for budding psychiatrists."

The Robert Dunning Dripps Memorial Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education was established by the Anesthesia Department in 1983-84. As a pioneer in the specialty of Anesthesia and the department chair from 1943 to 1972, Dr. Dripps was instrumental in the training of more than 300 residents and fellows, many of whom went on to chair other departments. This award recognizes excellence as an educator of residents and fellows in clinical care, research, teaching, or administration.

Robert R. Gaiser, M.D., Assistant Professor of Anesthesia at HUP, is this year's recipient of the Dripps Award. Dr. Gaiser is recognized for his success as an educator and role model for medical students, residents, and other clinicians. He has "remarkable personal skills that allow him to be a highly effective teacher, not only in the classroom but also at the bedside or operating table. He is calm, thoughtful, meticulous, and considerate in every teaching encounter." He has developed two significant resident teaching programs during his tenure, and has made a significant impact on his trainees. A former resident stated that "his interaction with Dr. Gaiser was a deciding factor in his decision to become an anesthesiologist." Another resident, citing Dr. Gaiser as a strong role model for anesthesia residents, added that "one could ask any resident with the program and the resounding reply would be accolades."

Dean's Awards for Excellence in . . .

... Clinical Teaching at an Affiliated Hospital: The three 1997 recipients are:

Louis M. Bell, Jr., M.D., Associate Professor of Pediatrics at CHOP. Dr. Bell is acknowledged for his achievement in the areas of both pediatric emergency medicine and pediatric infectious diseases.

Gregory F. Keenan, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at CHOP. Dr. Keenan has attained an outstanding reputation as a teacher of clinical rheumatology, and receives consistently high marks from medical students, housestaff and fellows.

Sean P. Harbison, M.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery at Graduate Hospital. The course director of the Surgery 200 clerkship at Graduate, Dr. Harbison has been designated as instrumental in making the experience of Penn students at that institution truly positive.

... Graduate Student Training: The three 1997 recipients are:

James C. Alwine, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology. Dr. Alwine is a superb example of a scholar-scientist. "He serves as the consummate mentor."

Irwin Lucki, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry. His Behavioral Pharmacology course, "...[appeals]...to many students [for] its integration between basic science and its application to psychiatric medicine."

Trevor M. Penning, Ph.D., Professor of Pharmacology and Obstetrics & Gynecology. He has been instrumental in developing medicinal chemistry as a timely theme in biomedical education, and has the outstanding ability to bridge multiple disciplines.

... Basic Science Teaching: Two recipients for 1997:

Joel G. Flaks, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Biophysics. Dr. Flaks, one of two directors of the biochemistry course, played a crucial role in creating this innovative course for medical students.

Nancy B. Spinner, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics/Genetics at CHOP. Her students lauded her "unusual combination of knowledge, experience, and ability to dissect complex material into easily understood parts serve to stimulate the next generation of physicians and researchers in genetics."

... Medical Student Teaching by an Allied Health Professional: The first recipient of this award, Anthony Searles, Instructor of Orthopaedic Surgery & Director of Splinting and Casting: Practical Principles of Orthopaedic Care for the General Practitioner, was cited as "an awesome and dedicated teacher whose practical knowledge, educational skills, and boundless enthusiasm in teaching...should serve as a stellar example for what this award...[honors]. "

... Special Dean's Award: This is presented to M. William Schwartz, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics at CHOP. Dr. Schwartz was praised for "30 years of contribution to the educational efforts of the Medical School, by developing innovative courses, including the evolving applications of computer-assisted learning."

Awards Given by Students: For the Medical Student Government Teaching Awards, the graduating class nominates one faculty member from basic sciences and one from clinical medicine. The 1997 winners are: Francis H. Sterling, M.D., Professor of Medicine (above left) at the VAMC and Alan C. Rosenquist, Ph.D., Professor of Neuroscience (above right).


Volume 43 Number 30
April 15, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.