Women of Color Awards: the 1997 Honorees

At the tenth annual Women of Color luncheon on March 7, the highest awards given* were in the Outstanding Women of Color category, where one staff member and four students were chosen.

Terri White, Director of Academic Support Programs, was the staff honoree. Three graduate students, all members of Law '97, won--Aretha D. Davis, Claudia Colindres Johnson and Jennifer Y. Kim--and one undergraduate, Shweta Parmar, C '97

Special Recognition plaques were given to two staff members- -Melvis Williams, administrative assistant in the Office of Affirmative Action, and Winnie Smart-Mapp, staff assistant in the Center for Community Partnerships--and to one undergraduate, Suzy Lee, C '97.

A special presentation was made to Women of Color's campus founder, Joann Mitchell, the former director of the Office of Affirmative Action is now Associate Provost and Special Assistant to the President at Princeton.

Certificates were presented to three staff members--Doreen Beardon an instructor at the Presbyterian Medical School of Practical Nursing; Irene Clements, an adminstrative assistant in the Materials Sciences and Engineering Department; and Mary Chapman, a senior secretary in Benefits/Human Resources; and to four students: Kentra Carby, C'98; Melissa Muniz, C '97; Janice Ferebee-Murphy, SSW '98; and Aretha Davis, Law '97.

* The Helen O. Dickens Award for Lifetime Achievement is not always given, and was not given this year. In years past it has been given to Cora Ingrum (1993), Director of the SEAS Minority Program since 1982; Dr. Gloria Twine Chisum (1994), a University alumna and trustee who headed the Commission on Strengthening the University; Peggy Thomas (1995), a surgical Technician in Operations at HUP; and Ruth O. Seward (1996), Director of the Department of Social Work at Presbyterian Medical Center.


Volume 43 Number 26
March 18, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.