Rose Funds for Research: April 14 Deadline

The Rose Foundation has generously provided a gift, known as the Rose Undergraduate Research Award Fund, whose income recognizes outstanding achievement in research by students in any of the undergraduate schools. The Rose Fund is administered by the College of Arts and Sciences, with awards made annually on a competitive basis by the Council of Undergraduate Deans.

To be considered for a Rose Award, a research project must be nominated by a member of the faculty. The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 14, 1997. Nominations consist of the faculty letter of nomination and an application prepared by the student. Students should complete the application (see locations below) and submit it to the faculty member who will be nominating the project. If the nomination is initiated by the faculty member, he or she should ensure that the student has filled out an application to accompany the letter of nomination.

The faculty letter of nomination should address the quality, originality, and importance of the student's research. It should not exceed three pages. Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of faculty who will make recommendations to the Council of Undergraduate Deans.

All undergraduate research projects are eligible for the Rose Award; they need not have been funded by the Nassau Fund or by other undergraduate research grant in order to qualify for recognition. Depending upon the income available, up to five awards of up to $1,500 each will be made each year. In addition, an award of up to $500 may be made to the faculty advisor(s) of each project. In cases where there are multiple student research investigators and/or advisors, the awards will be divided among the participants. The criteria used in judging the projects will be the quality, the originality, and the importance of the research.

Awards will be announced by the Council of Undergraduate Deans before Commencement and publicized in the appropriate campus media.

Applications may be obtained from any of the undergraduate deans.

Arts and Sciences: Dr. Robert Rescorla, 133 South 36th Street/Mezzanine

CGS: Dr. Richard Hendrix, Suite 100, 3440 Market Street

Engineering: Dr. David Pope, 109 Towne Building

School of Nursing: Dr. Mary Naylor, 475 Nursing Education Building.

Wharton School: Dr. Richard Herring, 1100 Steinberg-Dietrich Hall


Volume 43 Number 26
March 18, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.