Nominations: Alice Paul, Other Awards

The Association of Women Faculty and Administrators solicits nominations for its three major annual awards, to be given at the April Awards Breakfast.

The Alice Paul Awards, named for the famous suffragist leader and Penn alumna who founded the National Women's Party and authored the Equal Rights Amendment, are awarded to students, regardless of gender, who have demonstrated outstanding service to women in the Penn community. The Lenore Williams Award, named in honor of the wife of former provost Edwin B. Williams, is given to a distinguished female scholar or leader whose contributions extend within and beyond our campus. The Robert E. Davies Award, in honor of the late feminist and distinguished Penn scholar, recognizes any individual(s) for their work for social change.

Nominations should be sent by March 1 to the president of AWFA, Dr. Yvonne Paterson, professor of microbiology, 802G Abramson Building, CHOP/4318. Letters should include:

  1. Nominee's name, school, position, address and telephone number;
  2. The nature of the nominee's achievement and why it is extraordinary; and
  3. Nominator's name, position, campus address and telephone number.

The awardees will be announced at the annual AWFA breakfast in April.


Volume 43 Number 20
February 4, 1997

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.