SAS: Nominations for Ira Abrams Teaching Award

The Ira Abrams Memorial Award for Distinguished Teaching is presented annually to a faculty member in the School of Arts and Sciences to celebrate his/her contributions to teaching. Excellence in teaching will, of course, reveal itself differently across fields and settings.

In general, the Award seeks to recognize teaching that is intellectually rigorous, exceptionally coherent, and that leads to an informed understanding of a discipline. Recipients of the Ira Abrams Memorial Award are expected to embody high standards of integrity and fairness, to have a strong commitment to learning, and to be open to new ideas.

Each year one member of the standing faculty will be honored for distinguished teaching; the recipient will receive an award of $6,000 and his/her name will be inscribed on a plaque located near the Office of the Dean. All members of the standing faculty are eligible. In addition, the recipient's department will receive $4,000 to be used to improve teaching in the department.

Nominations are solicited from faculty and students and should be in the form of a letter to Dean Walter D. Wales (116 College Hall/6377) by Friday, January 17, 1997 describing those qualities that make the nominee an outstanding teacher. The letter should include the nominee's full name, department and rank; the name, address, and phone number of the nominator; and an explanation of how the nominator knows the nominee.


Volume 43 Number 12
November 12, 1996

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.