Of Record

Final Report of the Consultative Committee on the Selection of a Dean of the Graduate School of Fine Arts

The committee was convened by President Judith Rodin and Provost Stanley Chodorow on November 28, 1995. Members of the committee were: Nadia Alhasani (assistant professor of architecture, GSFA); Richard Beeman (professor of history, SAS), chair; Thomas Gerrity (dean, The Wharton School); Geoffrey Hazard (Trustee Professor of Law, Law School); Renata Holod (professor of history of art, SAS); John Dixon Hunt (professor and chair of landscape architecture, GSFA); Wendy Evans Joseph (overseer and alumna); Peter McCleary (professor of architecture, GSFA); Stewart Osborne (GSFA student); Michael Saltzman (GSFA student); Julie Schneider (associate professor of fine arts, GSFA); and Susan Wachter (professor of real estate and finance, The Wharton School). Allison Rose, assistant secretary of the University, served as secretary of the committee.

In order to establish clear criteria for the position, the committee consulted widely within GSFA, meeting with senior administrators, department chairs, faculty, students, overseers, and representatives of the School's alumni association. The committee sought candidates with a record of distinguished professional and scholarly achievement; the intellectual leadership and vision to guide the school in maintaining and strengthening its reputation for excellence in professional education and research; and demonstrated potential for academic administration and management.

The committee solicited nominations from GSFA faculty, students, overseers, and alumni; deans, department chairs, and faculty members at peer schools and programs around the country; and practitioners in the design fields represented at the School. The position was advertised in The Affirmative Action Register, The Chronicle of Higher Education , The Times Higher Education Supplement, The Economist, The New York Times, ACSA Newsletter , AIA Newsletter, Architecture, Council for Education in Landscape Architecture Newsletter , College Art Association Bulletin, Planning , Progressive Architecture, and Urban Land Magazine . In addition, the search firm of Auerbach Associates was engaged to assist the committee in the identification of candidates.

The search committee met 21 times and reviewed the credentials of 230 individuals, of whom 37 were women and 12 were identified as minorities. Seven individuals were interviewed for the position. After careful deliberation, the committee submitted a set of recommendations to the president and provost, who subsequently announced the appointment of Dr. Gary Hack, professor of urban design at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, as the School's next dean, effective July 1, 1996. The appointment was approved by the Trustees of the University on June 21, 1996.

Richard R. Beeman, Chair


Volume 43 Number 1
July 16, 1996

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.