Medal of Freedom

Three of the 12 distinguished Americans receiving the President's Medal of Freedom at the White House this week are Penn-related: Judge A. Leon Higginbotham, who was a trustee and member of the Law Faculty; Dr. C. Everett Koop, the pediatrics professor who headed CHOP before he served as Surgeon General; and Alumnus William T. Coleman, later U.S. Secretary of Transportation.

Honorary Degrees for Two

Dr. Fay Ajzenberg-Selove, professor emeritus of physics, was awarded the Doctor of Science degree honoris causa by Smith College this year, with a citation that begins, "In successfully blending a scientific career of teaching, research, writing, and professional activities, you have not only established a solid reputation in your field, you have paved an important path for women in physics to follow." The Lindback Award winner, Guggenheim Awardee and member of the National Academy of Sciences was cited for organizing the American Physical Society's first panel session on women in the field, and praised for her recent book, A Matter of Choices: Memoirs of a Female Physicist.

Dr. Martin Ostwald, a widely recognized scholar of Greek political thought and institutions who is professor emeritus of classical studies, will be awarded an honorary degree from the Université de Fribourg Suisse on November 15, 1995. The ceremony in Switzerland will be in conjunction with the inauguration of the new Dean of Faculty at the University, Dr. Walter Haas. Among the works for which Dr. Ostwald is known is From Popular Sovereignty to the Sovereignty of Law (Berkeley, 1986).


John B. Neff (right), the charter trustee who heads Penn's investment committee, was honored with the Philadelphia Scholars Fund's first annual Giving Forward Award, for his support of the Philadelphia Scholars Fund, which provides Last Dollar Scholarships to public high school graduates at accredited colleges and universities. Mr. Neff's firm, Wellington Management Company, added to the honor with a gift of $100,000 to the Fund to endow the John B. Neff Scholarships.