Honors in Brief

President's Medal to Dr. Patrick
Dr. Ruth Patrick, adjunct professor of biology, is one of eight Americans who will receive the National Medal of Science at a ceremony to be scheduled this summer at the White House. Dr. Patrick, who holds the Francis Boyer Chair of Limnology at the Academy of Natural Sciences and is chair of the Academy's Board of Trustees, is being honored work that "established the central principle in environmental science that an ecosystem's biological diversity reflects its overall condition," a White House statement said.

Dr. Patrick has been with the Academy since 1933, and continues to work in her eighties. She began her parallel affiliation with Penn in 1950 as a lecturer in botany, and became an adjunct professor of biology in 1970. She holds 25 honorary doctorates, one of them given by Penn in October 1984, when she was cited for for making "an immense scholarly contribution to the understanding of biological communities and the way these respond to change in the physical environment."

Pew Award to Dr. Primosch
Dr. James Primosch, the young composer/pianist who was the first holder of the Laura Jan Meyerson Term Chair in the Humanities here, has been chosen for one of the twelve $50,000 Pew Fellowships in the Arts for 1996. The Pew Fellowship panels look both for "overall artistic promise and accomplishment," and for "individuals who seemed to be at a turning point or artistic juncture," a spokesperson said. This is the 40th fellowship or prize for Dr. Primosch, who took his masters degree here in 1980. He has recently had premières of works including Sacra Conversazione, Secret Geometry, and Some Glad Mystery.


Volume 42 Number 34
June 18, 1996

Return to Almanac's homepage.

Return to index for this issue.