AAAS Fellows: Dr. Farris, Dr. Fishman and Dr. Olin

Three members of the Penn faculty have been elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences: Dr. Nancy Farriss, Annenberg Professor of History in the School of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Alfred P. Fishman, chair of Rehabilitation Medicine in the School of Medicine; and Dr. Laurie Olin, adjunct professor of landscape architecture and regional planning in the Graduate School of Fine Arts.

AIAA Fellow: Dr. Cohen

Dr. Ira M. Cohen, professor and chair of the department of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics at SEAS, was recently elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Belgian Medal: Dr. Fox

Dr. Renée C. Fox, Annenberg Professor of Social Sciences, received a decoration of the Belgian Government at the Embassy in Washington this year, in recognition of the more than 35 years of sociological research she conducted in Belgium and its former colony, Zaire. One of her books is based on that research: In the Belgian Chateau: The Spirit and Culture of a European Society in an Age of Change.


Volume 42 Number 31
May 7, 1996

Return to Almanac's home page.

Return to index for this issue.