Honorary Degrees:
Some Presidents and Deans

Two of Penn's former presidents have received honorary degrees in 1995-96, and the Dean of Nursing is to receive one shortly.

Dr. Sheldon Hackney (left), who now chairs the National Endowment for the Humanities, was awarded the doctorate of humane letters last fall by the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, for his " advocacy for preserving our heritage, and leadership in promoting our cultural present and future."

Dr. Claire Fagin (middle), Penn's interim president in 1993-94, was given the doctor of science degree at Loyola University of Chicago in January.The Dean Emerita of Penn Nursing was cited as "editor, administrator, framer of health care policy, role model, nursing leader extraordinaire."

On May 15 in Carnegie Hall, New York, Dr. Norma M. Lang (right), Dean of the School of Nursing, will receive the honorary degree doctor of science from the State University of New York during the commencement ceremonies of the College of Nursing and College of Health Related Professions. The Brooklyn-based institution nominated Dr. Lang for her admired contributions to nursing education and the public health.

Fellows of the Econometric Society

Three Penn economists are among the 16 scholars worldwide who were elect-ed Fellows of the Econometric Society, one of the world's most prestigious economic organizations.

Elected were Dr. George Mailath, whose areas of research are microeconomic theory, game theory, and mathematical economics; Dr. Rafael Rob, who studies industrial organization and microeconomic theory; and Dr. Kenneth Wolpin, who specializes in labor economics and empirical economics. Eight other members of the department were already Fellows of the Society:

Dr. Mendelson:
President & CEO, Global Center (GIC)

Dr. Morris Mendelson, professor emeritus of finance at the Wharton School, has been named president and CEO of the Global Interdependence Center, a Philadelphia-based organization that fosters dialogue on global economic issues through roundtables, seminars, international conferences and publication of position papers and conference proceedings. It is headquartered at the Fels Center.

A member of Wharton's faculty since 1961, Dr. Mendelson has been engaged in international finance since the late '60s when he added the Eurobond market to his studies of investment banking. His joint interests in staff and executive development and in computerization of trading centers has been applied to projects and consulting in North and South America, Europe and Eastern European countries, Japan, and, via the advisory board of the Aidoo Group, to African governments and businesses.

Dr. Mendelson will continue to teach in the MBA program at Wharton, where he also serves on the advisory board of the Wharton Emerging Economies Program.

National Academy of Engineering:
Dr. Glandt

Dr. Eduardo D. Glandt, an award-winning teacher who is the Russell Pearce and Elizabeth Crimian Heuer Professor of Chemical Engineering at SEAS, is one of 78 Americans elected this year to the National Academy of Engineering.

In the Academy that singles out "unusual accomplishment in the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology," Dr. Gland was recognized for his work in applying advances in molecular science to chemical engineering, and specifically for his research on liquids, interfacial phenomena and heterogeneous materials.

A native of Argentina, Dr. Glandt took his baccalaureate degree magna cum laude from the University of Buenos Aires. After teaching there and conducting research at Argentina's National Institute of Industrial Technology, he enrolled at Penn for his advanced degrees. He was named to the faculty on taking his Ph.D. in 1977; promoted to tenure in 1981; and made full professor in 1985. Chair of the department in 1991-94, he was the Carl V.S. Patterson from 1990 until last October when he was named to the Heuer chair.

For his teaching, Dr. Glandt has received both the SEAS prize-- the S. Reid Warren Award--and the University-wide Christian and Mary Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching. He also won the American Chemical Society's Victor K. LaMer Award (1979), and has held numerous named lectureships throughout the U.S.


March 26, 1996
Volume 42 Number 25

Return to index for this issue.

Return to Almanac homepage.