Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate
FROM: William L. Kissick, Chair
SUBJECT: Senate Nominations 1996-97

  1. In accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules, official notice is given of the Senate Nominating Committee's slate of nominees for the incoming Senate Officers. The nominees, all of whom have indicated their willingness to serve, are:
    Chair-elect: Vivian Seltzer (prof social work)
    Secretary-elect: Jack Nagel (prof political sci)

    At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee (to serve a 3- year term beginning May, 1996):
    Laura L. Hayman (assoc prof nursing)
    Robin L. Leidner (assoc prof sociology)
    Harvey Rubin (assoc prof medicine)
    Jorge Santiago-Aviles (assoc prof electrical engineering)

    One Assistant Professor Member of the Senate Executive Committee (to serve a 2-year term beginning May, 1996):
    Wanda Mohr (asst prof nursing)

    Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (to serve a 3-year term beginning May, 1996):
    Rubin C. Gur (prof psychiatry)
    Samuel H. Preston (prof sociology)
    Susan Sturm (prof law)

    Senate Committee on Conduct (to serve a 2-year term beginning May, 1996):
    John A. Lepore (prof civil systems)
    Barbara Woodhouse (prof law)
    Sally H. Zigmond (prof biology)

    Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty (to serve a 3-year term beginning May, 1996):
    Joseph Gyourko (assoc prof real estate)
    Bruce J. Shenker (prof pathol/dental)

  2. Again in accord with the Senate Rules you are invited to submit "additional nominations, which shall be accomplished via petitions containing at least twenty-five valid names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received no later than fourteen days subsequent to the circulation of the nominees of the Nominating Committee. Nominations will automatically be closed fourteen days after circulation of the slate of the Nominating Committee." Pursuant to this provision, petitions must be received by mail at the Faculty Senate, Box 12 College Hall/6303, or by hand at the Faculty Senate Office, 210 Houston Hall by 5 p.m., Tuesday, March 19, 1996.

  3. Under the same provision of the Senate Rules, if no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Nominating Committee will be declared elected. Should additional nominations be received, an election will thereafter be held by mail ballot.


February 27, 1996
Volume 42 Number 22

Return to the Almanac home page.

Return to the index for this issue.